The importance of Tr/a\veling

Good morning my brothers. Again, it’s been a while since my last post. 

     Today, I wanted to jump right in and discuss the importance of traveling, and what it can do for your perspective and how we view our gentile craft. 
     Being a Master Mason, in good standing with a legitimate GL and PHGL of state, affords is the ability to travel freely. But what does it mean to be a traveler? For me, it’s a great honor, and privilege to be able to travel to other lodges. Not just within my district, but also, inside, and outside of my state. Traveling outside your state, may not be easy for many brothers. In fact, traveling, at times, can be a little hard for many of us. However, that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try. 
     Over the last year, I have been traveling all over the state of Ohio, and even been able to have the pleasure of traveling to lodges in other states. I give a presentation on symbolism, and how our experiences with them, can shape how we view them. Both masonically, and socially. Giving this interactive presentation, has afforded me the ability to travel quite a bit. And let me tell you, I don’t think I’ll ever stop traveling to other lodges. It’s such a unique experience to sit in lodges you’ve never been to. Not just because everyone is new, but also, because how they do things, even within your own state, and even district, can be very different. The added bonus, is also being able to speak with other brothers and share insight pertaining to our perspectives regarding Freemasonry. In addition to that, having the ability to see the smaller differences inside each lodge is inspiring as well. From the pillars, to the furnishings; from floor to cieling. Some differences are large, some are small, but all of these add up to a great experience. 
     Traveling is a great way to meet brothers. It’s also a great way to see the vast differences from State to state, district to district, lodge to lodge, and brother to brother. The amount of knowledge I have obtained, in one year, is humbling. It’s humbling, because it allows me to see, without distraction, how small I am as one person, in a fraternity that spans the globe. From my own ideas, to the knowledge of others, each one of us as an individual, make up this great fraternity. 
     As an entered apprentice, I can remember being very rough around the edges. Of course, that’s kind of the point. I hadn’t yet realized how insignificant I was in the grand scheme of things, especially in terms of our fraternity. 
     Something else that just came to mind, (as most of you know,  this blog is more of a public diary of thoughts, and not as much a collegiate level exposé) yesterday, as I sat in on an installation of district education officer and district deputies grand master, it suddenly hit me- I travel so much, that most of the people in the room probably have either heard of me, or know who I am through the knowledge of others. This is pretty humbling for me. I feel so insignificant, yet, I’m also easily recognizable to many brothers. I’m thankful for my experiences, and look forward to many more years of traveling as a result. 
     There are many things I can say about traveling. 
None, so important as this:
I’ve learned more in the last year traveling, than I have as an officer in my lodge. There is a wealth of knowledge out there. Knowledge we all have access to. Knowledge we have the ability to tap into by making contacts and having conversations with other brothers. 
Get out and travel. Get out and see other lodges. If you don’t have time, try to make time. Even if it’s once a month, a day you choose to find a lodge to visit. Even if within your own district, I think traveling is important, becaus we have the ability to do it. I promise you, if you travel, at minimum, to degree work within your state, you’ll learn so much more about things you’ve probably been overlooking, than you would sitting in one spot. 
Have a great day brothers. 

2 comments

  1. WHEN TRAVELING A BROTHER NEEDS TYO KNOW HOW T O ENTERED A LODGE ON 3-5-7. A LOT OF BROTHERS ARE NOT TAUGHT THAT NOW. TUFFONES I FROM THE OLD SCHOOL HOW TO ENTER A LODGE.

    Like

Leave a comment